The Light

I am currently part of a Bible Study group at my church studying Ephesians with Priscilla Shirer’s Armor of God Bible Study.  This week, she was talking about how the enemy is out to get us, to deceive us and make us think we are walking in truth when we are not. But “All things become visible when they are exposed by the light” (Ephesians 5:13). God’s TRUTH is the LIGHT. We need the Armor of God to fight the devil. Strapping on the Belt of Truth allows me us to stand firm against the scenes of the devil and gives us the freedom we wouldn’t have otherwise.

While explaining that we need to take every choice we need to make to the light of God’s truth, she gave a bunch of examples how that plays out in our daily lives. Now there were many that were personal to me and made me think. But the one that was so amazing was her example of just finishing a large meal and seeing a platter of food or dessert and wanting more. She had me laughing out loud when she said “When was eating about being hungry? Isn’t it just a hobby?” Because isn’t that just so true for many of us?!! But “Don’t you realize that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourself, for God bought you with a high price. So you must honor God with your body.” (1 Corinthians 6:19).

And isn’t God’s PERFECT TIMING just amazing? That while I on a journey to become a HEALTHIER me and am praying for opportunities to help others as well, that God happened to place me in a Bible study that would remind me and teach me that the devil is a master illusionist and works in complete deception. That I am reminded that the enemy knows how to attack ME personally because he knows my weaknesses and proclivities. That devil is the one who makes me think I NEED that piece of bread, or cake, or candy. The devil is the one who makes me think I’m not the right size, I’m not strong enough, good enough.

BUT when I put those thoughts up against God’s truth- That I was created in His image and although I will often falter, that with PRAYER and putting on the full armor of God, I KNOW that I will be able to CRUSH the devil.

27ac4d34f105f37fc158bd48f6fc188a

One thought on “The Light

Leave a Reply

