God’s Perfect Timing

I mentioned how God’s timing really is perfect in a blog earlier this week. But yesterday I was really amazed by His PERFECT timing and understanding of my needs. How He gives us everything we need at exactly the right time.

Well Friday I was having a really bad morning. For whatever reason, I felt like a horrible mom. I was tired. I was grumpy. I was frustrated with Macon for waking up before I even had a chance have a second for myself, AGAIN. Then I felt selfish and awful for being short-tempered him for something that he can’t control. He is going through a growth spurt, has a cold, has some fluid in his ears, and is likely getting the dreaded second molars (and going through the terrible-twos). I got to work, and just felt defeated.  So I decided to listen to some of my favorite Christian music on Pandora and read my bible study.

As you may know, I am currently working through Priscilla Shirer’s study- “The Armor of God.”   The homework lesson is called “Strengthen Your Core” based on the Belt of Truth from Ephesians 6:14. Priscilla compares the Belt with the belt that a Roman legionary would put on before the rest of his armor to support his core so that his body would not crumple from the weight of the rest of his armor.

Truth is our core support.  “It provides the essential backing you need when you’re in the midst of a spiritual war.”  Truth is what God says about anything. I was listening to all the lies of the enemy and I needed to be reminded of the truth in God’s Word.

Priscilla then referenced Deuteronomy 6:4-9 “Listen, O Israel! The Lord is our God, the Lord along. And you must love the Lord your God with all your hear, all your soul,and all your strength. And you must commit yourselves wholeheartedly to these commands that I am giving you today. Repeat them again and again to your children. Talk about them when you are at home and when you are on the road, when you are going to bed and when you are getting up. Tie them to your hands and wear them on your forehead as reminders. Write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.”

How could you implement a strategy for this in your own life this week?

IMG_2781 Note my response- Scripture memory board in home.

So Friday night I went to my cousin Amy’s house for a Pinterest party “Girls’ Night Out” for our Sunday School Class.  I had no idea beforehand what she had planned for us. She told us we were going to work on a really fun craft, that it was easy, we could customize it however we would like, then she showed us hers so that we could see what we were going to create.

IMG_2766

We would be making a Verse of the Week display for our home!  On the SAME day that I studied about how important God’s word- His TRUTH is our core strength. It keeps us balanced and grounded. On the same day that I made a decision to put a scripture memory board in my home.

God knew what I needed Friday when I was reading my bible study. He knew what I needed when I was enjoying an evening out. When we really take time to think about all that God does for us, that he has planned out for us, and that we really do not need to worry when we place it all in His hands, I feel I can breathe so much better.

Here are my crafty creations.  And I have placed my scripture board on the counter as you go out the door to our cars. We will see God’s word just before we leave our home. God’s truth is my core support and I want to remind myself of it every single day.

IMG_2780

IMG_2768

One thought on “God’s Perfect Timing

Leave a Reply

