21 Day Fix

If you have been following along with my blog and my posts on Facebook, then you know I have been doing the 21 Day Fix since January (4th to be exact).

21df_logo_800x800

I’m sure you have seen the infomercials, recipes and tips on Pinterest, and posts on Facebook but have no idea what it really entails.  So I am going to provide you with a review based on my experience so far.

21 Day Fix was created by Autumn Calabrese, celebrity trainer, bikini competitor and mom. In her cookbook, “Fixate” that she wrote to accompany the 21 Day Fix, she talks about how she managed to keep the “freshman 15” off while she was in college because she was danging non-stop. But after an injury and getting married, she started to gain weight. Then she got pregnant and knew it was going to be hard to get the weight off.  So she finally took control of the situation and looked at what she was eating throughout the pregnancy. After a C-section, she was able to lose all of the baby weight in 12 weeks and another 5 pounds more and has maintained that weight since then.Fixate_GSE_526x526_1_Book photo

I signed up for the 21 Day Fix Challenge Pack (basically a month’s supply of Shakeology PLUS the 21 Day Fix for a discounted bundled price).  The 21 Day Fix Challenge Pack consists of:

  1. Seven 30 minute total body workouts which you are recommended to complete in the following order:

Mondays- “Total Body Cardio Fix. Keep your heart rate up and your  metabolism revved high long after the workout is over.”  I really love this workout, it is hard, but it really works your entire body and the 30 minutes is up before you know it. You have 4 rounds, each round has 2 exercises with 2 sets each, including surrenders, frog crunches, cross-countries, weighted jogs and more.

IMG_2868 (surrenders)

Tuesdays- Upper Fix. “Targeted resistance training helps shape your chest, back, shoulders, arms, and abs.” You might think that an upper body workout is not going to give you a good sweaty workout.  BUT this one does! It has 2 rounds, each round as 5 exercises with 2 sets each.  I started off using 5 pound weights for my light and 8 pounds for my heavy and could only do the modified pushups. But this week I graduated to 10 pounds for my heavy (will try 8 for some of the lights but that is still a little hard) and can now do some of my pushups without modifiers!). Get ready for bent-over rows, pushups, forearm planks, circle crunches and more.

IMG_2870 (bent over row)

Wednesdays- Lower Fix. “Firm and tone your entire lower body while you blast fat and burn calories.”  I sweat more during this workout than most of the others!  There are 4 rounds, each round has 2 exercises with 2 sets each. Get ready for some 10 second holds that will leave your legs burning and shaking. As Autumn says, “Shake now so you won’t shake later!” And there is a bonus extra round of one exercise that will have your buns on fire! Squats with leg lifts, sumo squats, split squats, side lunges, and curtsy lunges, oh my! Oh- and a “fire hydrant” bonus move!

IMG_2873 (sumo squats)

Thursdays- Pilates Fix. “Strengthen your core, elongate your muscles, and firm your hips and thighs.” This is one of the active recovery days that incorporates breathing, stretching, and core strengthening. By day 4 of my first round of the fix, I was so sore I thought I didn’t need to do this little pilates video.  But I did it anyway.  It was HARD! But the next morning, I woke up and could move so much better than the day before and could tell I definitely needed that ACTIVE recovery.

IMG_2842 (forearm plank)

Fridays- Cardio Fix. “Get your heart pumping and your body moving as you melt away the pounds.” I kind of hate this one. But I love it too. It is 4 rounds, 2 exercises each round with 2 sets each, plus a bonus round. It includes the dreaded burpees….”Not always fun, but they’ll get you to your goals.”

Saturdays- Dirty 30. “4 rounds of fat-burning exercises help carve out a leaner, stronger physique.” (This is considered a bonus workout, but is part of the package at this time.) I actually LOVE this one- full of side lunges, renegade rows, sumo row, tricep kickback (and more).

Sundays- Yoga Fix. “Improve your balance, flexibility, and strength as you help relax your muscles.” This is another active recovery day and is the perfect ending after a very intense week! This is not a vinyasa or “cardio” intense workout but more of an active stretch and really works out all the kinks you have worked up over the week.

Bonus- Ab Fix- a 10 minute workout targeting your core.

IMG_2871 (cross crunches)

*Total Body Cardio, Upper Fix, Lower Fix and Dirty 30 all require dumbbells or resistance bands. You will also want some type of yoga mat for some of the floor exercises. There is typically a 15-30 second break between each set.

*All of the workouts include multiple modifications for the different exercises. USE them when you need them, decrease or get rid of your weights as needed. But if it feels too easy, then it probably is and you should give it a try with weights, heavier weights, or without modifiers. “It doesn’t get easier, you get stronger!”

2. The 21 Day Fix Eating Plan

This is a simple Eating Plan that shows you how to learn portion control eating delicious healthy foods. You do not have to weigh, measure or count calories. If it fits in the container, you eat it!

There are 7 color coded containers 1 Green- veggies, 1 Red- lean proteins, 1- Purple- Fruits, 1- Blue- healthy fats, 2- Orange- Dressings/nuts, 1- Yellow- Carbs. And you use your own teaspoon.  First, you figure out what your calorie bracket is. That tells you how many containers of each color you get. Second, you determine what goes in the containers.

883f8c5deb47604b9ba840313e47fe76

3. Extras

You will also get a 3 Day Quick Fix (Get beach-ready in 72 hours!); 24/7 online support; and your results are guaranteed- OR your money back.

4. Shakeology

Shakeology for me has been the KEY!  It is dense superfood nutrition that is equivalent to eating 6 salads.  A lot of people think it is a proven shake. Yes- it has protein, BUT it is just so much more.  “There are 13 vitamins that are considered essential for proper body function. Shakeology has them all!”  Some people just add water to the scoop of shakeology and shake it up. I LOVE to add water, ice, and some frozen fruit and fix myself a little dessert shake for BREAKFAST- everyday!

Shakeology_logo_with_tag_LR

IMG_2737

My Results

After my first round, I lost 5.3 pounds! But my biggest changes were NoT not he scale. I lost a total of 11.75 inches, began sleeping better, having more energy throughout the day, reduced cravings, and better digestion.  My second round included some Valentine’s and Birthday treats so I only lost another 1.2 pounds. BUT, I lost another 3 1/4 inches! I’m now down to the size I was when I got married! (Some of the smallest ones are a little too tight still- but that is more from the left over baby belly that I am still working on).

I am currently working through round 3 and am so amazed at the continued progress and transformation I am seeing. Like today…

IMG_2854

This was in the break room when I went to fill up my giant 24 oz cup of water. I thought about getting just ONE little piece of chocolate candy. Then I decided I would get ONE little starburst.  But then I decided- NO, you came in here to get water to go to the gym and kick some butt doing Lower Fix, so go do it and do not eat that candy.  AND I DIDN’T.

IMG_2627

2 years ago on my birthday

FullSizeRender

Just before Christmas last year (and a few weeks before I started this journey)

IMG_2786

This year on my birthday.

Did you know it takes about 21 days to form a habit?  That is one of the premises behind 21 Day Fix.  I am 1/3 of the way through my third round and I have made this a lifestyle. It is not a diet for me.  There are still plenty of things to work on, goals that I want to achieve. But, I am taking them one day at time and know that I have the tools, support and motivation that I need to achieve my goals and maintain this lifestyle! I am planning to try the 21 Day Fix Extreme or Cize for my workouts next, but I LOVE knowing that I can use the meal plan, portion control and shakeology to help me achieve and maintain my goals!

I have Challenge Groups running every month to help you AND I reach our goals and be accountable for our progress.  I would LOVE to have you join me in my next Challenge.  Email me at maconsmommy@gmail.com for more information!

21dayfixpic

 

 

One thought on “21 Day Fix

Leave a Reply

