Get it Straight!

I am a very organized person. I love to have a place for everything and keep everything in its place.  But when you work a full-time job and have a very active toddler, it is almost impossible to keep everything exactly like you want it.

Last fall, I spent a week doing a deep clean of the entire house. Cleaned windows inside and out, did baseboards, and did a deep clean of every room. And attempted to straighten up and organize things that had gotten disheveled along the way.  But some things had just gone by the wayside for too long and needed some additional focus.

Today I tackled my closet. Now, I do not have a custom designed closet with drawers and sweater racks. But I am making the best out of the lovely closet that I do have.

e571fb5294acd30c537578b18b1a7f34

Over the past 4 years I have gone from a closet full of clothes that fit to some that were just a little too tight. Then got pregnant and had a baby and had to buy clothes to fit after my son was born. All of those small clothes were relegated to the closet in the guest room so that I wouldn’t be so sad looking at a closet full of clothes that I couldn’t wear!

About a year after my son was born I lost enough baby weight to get back into most of my tops but it wasn’t until I started my the 21 Day Fix and my health and fitness lifestyle change that I was finally able to wear some of those ostracized clothes again.  I recently went “shopping” and brought back almost (there are a few pants still a tad bit too tight) all of those clothes back into my closet.  It feels so great to be able to walk in the closet and know that everything will fit!

IMG_3019

The only problem is that from the taking clothes out to adding and removing maternity clothes, post baby clothes, in between clothes and bringing my wardrobe back in, the closet has fallen apart.

IMG_3379

IMG_3378

IMG_3377

So my first task was to take everything out and start from scratch. If you plan to tackle your closet, there are a few things you can do to make the process easier and less painful.

  1. Use the same type of hangers– keeps everything at the same level and just looks nicer.
  2. Hang everything so that it faces the same direction.
  3. To save some space, you can get some pant hangers that multiple pairs of pants and skirt hangers that have clips to hold several skirts.
  4. Put extra bags and other items that are rarely used out of reach.
  5. Be sure to fold your sweaters to avoid stretching and deforming on hangers.
  6. A shoe rack is essential!

The question then becomes, how exactly should I organize all of the clothes?

I’m very lucky that I have one section in my closet without a bottom rack so I can hang all of my dressed without a bottom rack getting in the way. (But I do have my little doggie Memphis’ house in there hiding under all of my dresses).

Once upon a time I practice law so I have had a bunch of suits over the years.  I still have some left that I haven’t donated. Since these suits are not used very often, I put them in the far back. Next came my long sleeve collard shirts. From there I tried to organize the rest of the shirts by color.  In the past I have always organized by the type of shirt (long sleeve, short sleeve, sleeveless, etc). But I find myself reusing the same tops and forgetting what all I have. I thought this time it might be better to organize by color.  When I know I want to wear purple, I can go to the section of purple tops and find the one that I want for that day, and maybe remember which purple shirt I wore the week before so I can spread the love amongst my closet.

And in case you can’t tell from the pile, I have a bit of an obsession with sweaters. I hate to be cold, so a sweater is the perfect top in the winter. I also happen to believe that you can never have enough cardigans. They are the perfect addition to a spring and fall outfit and I just need one in every color!

After weeding out a few scarfs and other things to give to Goodwill, this was the finished product….

IMG_3379 IMG_3380 IMG_3382 IMG_3383 IMG_3384 IMG_3386 IMG_3385

I also have a fully stocked jewelry box and handing organizer that makes it so easy to find the perfect “costume” jewelry to match my daily outfit selections.

IMG_3394

(thanks Diana for this gift a few years ago!)

Now I really have no excuse to re-wear the same outfits every week!

One other thing that I am working to incorporate in my closet is a prayer closet.  If you have not seen War Room, I would highly recommend it. If you have been reading my blog lately, you know that I am currently completing the Priscilla Shirer Bible Study, The Armor of God. In the movie and the Bible study, the focus is on strengthening your prayer life.  Prayer is one of my weakest areas of my faith walk and I am really trying to make conversation and time with God a bigger focus. I am working on prayer strategies and hanging them in my closet.  After today’s organizing, I should have no reason or obstacles to get in there and focus on prayer and building my relationship with God.  Stay tuned for a post about my prayer closet portion of my closet in a few weeks.

dcb58e9a7d488156a965a6bb15768a9e

Now I need to tackle Macon’s toy cabinet, and the guest room closet and dresser- both of which are full of random things that really need to find a home and stay there!

Leave a Reply

