Chunky Monkey

I love ice-cream. I could eat it every single day.  It is creamy and delicious. Perfectly sweet and my favorite butter pecan is also perfectly salty.  But my waist does not love ice-cream.

I have been eating clean and following a healthy portioned control meal plan for about 3 months now and it has made me feel so great, not bloated, full of energy, and no longer addicted to food.  But that doesn’t mean that I don’t still want the occasional treat.

Tonight was one of those nights.  I wanted something a little sweet. I wanted something a little salty….. I wanted ice-cream.

I have seen a bunch of different recipes floating around on Facebook and Pinterest for ice-cream made mostly of frozen fruit.  This little treat actually started on Saturday when I had some ripe bananas just before they were going to be too soft to eat.  So I sliced them up and froze them.

IMG_3920

I started a new Bible study tonight by Priscilla Shirer called “Breathe” about finding balance and time to observe the sabbath.  We talked at the beginning of class about ways we can take time for ourselves to relax.  It was the perfect pre-cursor to my little treat tonight.

And it was delicious!  It was the perfect healthy treat that tasted curiously like a dessert. It will not make me feel like I threw away all the hard work I have been putting in to my meal planning and exercise.

If you want to make my version of Chunky Monkey Ice-cream, start with frozen banana slices (about 1/2 a banana).

Add 2 teaspoons of natural peanut butter.

IMG_3921

A splash of almond milk

IMG_3922

Mix in a food processor or blender until creamy and top with a few chocolate chips.

IMG_3923

AND ENJOY!

For those of you following 21 Day Fix, this would count as 1 purple, 2 tsp and for the chocolate count it as a treat replacement.

4 thoughts on “Chunky Monkey

Leave a Reply

