Easy Side Dishes

Every Sunday I prepare and cook meals for the week.  I have found that it is very difficult for me to have healthy meals on the table for my family if I do not do it on the weekend.  I typically know what main dish I will have each night but do not always plan the side dishes.  But I cook enough to have variety throughout the week.  I wanted to share with you a couple of the really quick side dishes that, while simple, are delicious!

I pretty much always start by baking a few Sweet Potatoes.  Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  Wrap your sweet potato in aluminum foil and place in a baking dish (so drippings do not fall into your oven), and bake for about 45 minutes or so until soft.  When ready to serve, add a little cinnamon and warm.  They are perfectly sweet without the need for any added sugar.

IMG_4209

Next up comes Roasted Broccoli and Cauliflower.  Spray olive oil spray on a roasting pan or baking dish.  I typically use frozen vegetables because it is just easier.  Spread out one bag of broccoli and one bag of cauliflower onto the roasting pan.  Drizzle with olive oil.  Sprinkle sea salt, fresh ground pepper and garlic powder to taste.  Toss around to combine all the spices and olive oil

IMG_4214

Roast on 425 degrees for about 20 minutes.

IMG_4208

Another favorite in our house is Zucchini.  We do pan sautéed zucchini, roasted zucchini, zucchini noodles and more.  This week, I opted for Parmesan Crusted Roasted Zucchini.  Pre-heat over to 425 degrees.  Cut your zucchini into small sticks.  Toss with a little olive oil.  Sprinkle with sea salt and fresh ground black pepper. Then top with a little grated parmesan cheese.

IMG_4207

Roast for about 20-25 minutes.  They are so delicious!  You do not need to use much cheese to give the zucchini a little extra kick.

IMG_4215

Now I have enough side veggies to last me all week!  I have found that olive oil with salt and pepper any any vegetable roasted on 425 is perfect!

One thought on “Easy Side Dishes

  1. I actually started my first day of clean eating today (pulled a quick beginner’s plan off the internet) and this post was VERY helpful!!! I’m definitely going to pre-cook all of these…very doable! Keep the great tips coming!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

