Homemade Clean Tomato Sauce

One of the most used and versatile pantry items to always have on hand is a really good pasta sauce.  But when was the last time you actually read the labels?  There is often a ton of added sugar and preservatives.

Since I started my clean eating and fitness journey, I have really being paying more attention to labels and buying organic more often than not.  But sometimes, you really are able to make your own homemade pantry stable that is much cheaper than the organic option.

Take tomato sauce for example.  A really good traditional tomato sauce is about $4.00 a jar.  But organic can be about $8.00!  So I turned to Fixate for a cheaper, homemade clean alternative.

My version of this recipe is slightly different than the original Grandma’s Tomato Sauce for a couple reasons.  1.  I didn’t have any onions today.  But I did have a frozen pepper and onion medley.  I figured it would be fine because I love peppers in most any pasta or spaghetti type meals that I fix anyway.    2. I do not drink or buy wine.  So I use cooking wine.

I made this a couple months ago and it was delicious so I decided I would share it with all of you this time.  AND I made enough to last me six months!

Homemade Tomato Sauce

INGREDIENTS
  • 2 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 Medium Onion, Chopped (or try an onion and pepper blend like I did!)
  • 4 Cloves Garlic, Finely Chopped
  • 1 (6 oz) can Tomato Paste, No Salt Added
  • 1/4 cup Red Cooking Wine
  • 2 cans Whole Peeled Tomatoes crushed or pureed in blender (or food processor)
  • 2 tbsp Raw Honey
  • 1 tsp Sea Salt
  • 1/4 tsp Ground Black Pepper
  • 1 (3 oz) Parmesan Cheese Rind
  • 3 Tbsp Finely Chopped Fresh Parsley

DIRECTIONS

  • Heat oil in large saucepan over medium-high heat.
  • Add onion; cook, stirring frequently, for 5 to 6 minutes, or until onion is translucent.
  • Add garlic and tomato paste; cook, stirring constantly, for 2 to 3 minutes.
  • Add tomatoes, agave, salt, and pepper. Bring to a boil, stirring frequently. Reduce heat to low; gently boil, stirring occasionally, for 3 minutes.

IMG_4210

  • Add cheese rind; cook, stirring occasionally, for 1 hour.
  • Add parsley (or basil- whatever you have); mix well.

IMG_4212

This week I prepared two different proteins to use the sauce with.

Meatballs

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/3 Cup – Whole Wheat Breadcrumbs
  • 2 Tsp. – Olive Oil
  • 1 Pounds Raw 93% Lean Ground Turkey Breast
  • 1 Large Egg
  • 1/4 Cup – Fresh Parsley (finely chopped)
  • 2 Tbsp. – Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 1 Tsp. – Dried Oregano Leaves
  • 1/2 Tsp. – Sea Salt
  • 1/2 Tsp. – Ground Black Pepper

DIRECTIONS

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Mix all of the ingredients.  Patty small meatballs.  Heat olive oil in pan. Brown meatballs on each side 2-3 minutes.  Then put the meatballs in a baking dish prepared with olive oil spray and finish off in the oven for 5-10 minutes until cooked through.

IMG_4217

When time to eat, I will warm with some of the tomato sauce and serve with zoodles.

Chicken Parmesan

INGREDIENTS

  • Whole wheat bread crumbs
  • Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • Sea Salt and ground black pepper to taste
  • 1 egg
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Chicken breasts

DIRECTIONS

  • I didn’t include the amounts because this is not something I typically measure. I just eyeball based on the amount of chicken I am cooking each time.
  • Mix the bread crumbs, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper.
  • Dip the chicken in the chicken then the bread crumb mixture.
  • Place the chicken in a baking dish prepared with olive oil spray and bake until cooked through- about 15-20 minutes.
  • Spread some pasta sauce onto of the chicken and sprinkle with mozzarella cheese and return to oven for about 3-5 minutes.

IMG_4216

I saved the Tomato Sauce in small portions in freezer bags to have on hand next time I am in the mood for an Italian meal.

IMG_4229

2 thoughts on “Homemade Clean Tomato Sauce

Leave a Reply

