Homemade Chocolate Popsicles

Every week when I plan and prepare my meals for the week, I try to do one thing new.  Before starting my Clean Eating lifestyle, I used to eat one sugar free fudge pop a day.  I now know that although it is only 20 calories, it is probably not the healthiest choice.  But I have been missing that little treat at night. So I decided to make my own.

IMG_5408

So I set out on Pinterest to find a recipe and found this Chocolate, Peanut Butter, Banana Yogurt Pop

Ingredients

  • 1 cup almond milk or milk of choice
  • 3/4 cup plain non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 1/2 large ripe bananas
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter
  • 1 tablespoon raw or organic honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions

  • Place all of the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

IMG_5404

IMG_5405

  • Pour the mixture into popsicle molds and freeze for 30 minutes before inserting the popsicle sticks.

IMG_5406

  • Freeze the popsicles until they are frozen solid, about 4 hours.

IMG_5408

I followed the instructions explicitly.  But when I tried to remove the popsicle, they would NOT come out.  So my husband gave it a try and broke the whole mold right off!

He suggested running it under water, so I gave it a try.  Just about 5 seconds under slightly luke warm water did the trick and the popsicles came right out.

Macon enjoyed his for about 3 minutes then gave it up.  Jonathan and I really enjoyed our little ice cream treat.  The flavor was good but it did taste a little more yogurt-y than chocolate-y so I may need to adjust the amounts of some of the ingredients next time.  But all in all, this is a great replacement to my nightly fudge pop!

Leave a Reply

